Even If I Forget

Emaciated Child

I was totally arrested by this picture in the paper today.  What immediately went through my mind was, “Through no fault of her own, she has no food to eat.  Through no fault of her own.”  So many millions more are like this little girl – born into a life of abject poverty such as most of us have never seen or experienced.  Almost as quickly as my first thought came the conviction of how quickly I will forget about this little girl or the many other such children in pictures and stories to which I am exposed.  Jesus spoke into my spirit, “I never forget her.”  
   
 Isaiah 49:15  “Can a mother forget the baby at her breast and have no compassion on the child she has borne?  Though she may forget, I will not forget you!”  NIV

Even if I, being too concerned with my own interests, forget this little girl and all those she represents, Jesus will never forget her – not for one instant.  I don’t want just to rest in the fact that she will not be forgotten by Jesus.  I want Him to be able to say to me, “Come, you blessed of My Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world.  For I was hungry and you gave Me food. . .”  When I answer Him, “Lord, when did I see You hungry and give You food?” He will say to me, “Truly I tell you, in so far as you did it for one of the least [in the estimation of men] of these My brethren, you did it for Me.” (from Matthew 25:34-40 Amplified)

So, what do I do with this?  What do you do with it?  All I know at this point is that we are to bring each one before Him in prayer that He brings before us.   That’s the starting place, but it won’t always be the finishing place.  The Holy Spirit will make clear to each of us what we are to do about each one in need.  He could call us to give financially to an organization already serving the needs of those particular people.  He could call us to go, or to help send someone who is going.  He could call us to adopt an orphan in a poverty-stricken land.  He could call us to publicize the plight of a particular group of people, and organize others into doing something to help.  He could call us to do some combination of these things, and more.  I don’t know specifically.  All I know, at this point, is that Jesus never forgets these precious children.  As one who calls herself a Christ-follower, neither can I!

Please share your thoughts . . .

