I Still Need Jesus

NYC 2014 088Teetering on the edge of falling full-force into the pit of condemnation, I poured my heart’s contents onto the pages of my journal that morning. I had failed . . . again. I thought I learned the lesson last time, expecting myself to handle things differently going forward. But it was the same as before. I was the same as before.

I had made natural adjustments since the last time, ones that should have made the difference. But they didn’t go to the heart of the matter. My bad attitude was still there. Realizing I had focused on the natural to be the difference maker only pushed me farther into the darkness enveloping me.

In the middle of the next guilt-ridden sentence, Holy Spirit broke in. It was like a gentle, but forceful, shaking – one meant to return my attention fully to Him. Without speaking the words, or anything that could be so construed by many, He conveyed His unconditional love for me.

That’s what I sensed so overwhelmingly as I was given a glimpse of the situation as He saw it. I still need Jesus! Hallelujah! I still need Jesus! I haven’t graduated beyond Him. Even though I acted in my own strength . . . again . . . He still wants to remind me of His grace and mercy for me.

Only Jesus Christ can make the permanent and necessary changes in me – ever. Somehow, I subconsciously thought I had learned from my past mistakes and could take it from here. I failed. Again. Miserably. Always will on my own. Only in Christ is any good found in me. How freeing!

What absolutely unconditional love enveloped me again where the darkness had pressed only moments before! Indeed, I still need Jesus – every moment and every day!

Merry Christmas to all who, like me, still need Jesus!

2 thoughts on “I Still Need Jesus

  1. Donna Royer

    Kay only you and your blogs can cut to the core of my thinking. When I read your blogs it is like pouring my own thoughts out. It’s like God uses you to say what I can’t seem to get out of myself. Thanks so much for sharing your heart. It helps to know I am not alone always trying to do things on my own. I definitely need Jesus!!!

    Like

    1. Donna, I so wish we lived closer to one another. That way, we could pull things out of each other that we are obviously sharing! Your words encourage me so much, and I thank you for taking the time to write them. Much love to you! (By the way, I have no desire to leave NC – and I kind of suspect you’re fine with FL. So, I guess we’ll just have to keep going this way. 🙂 )

      Like

Please share your thoughts . . .

