The Refrigerator Incident

mini-004There I stood, in front of my new refrigerator, doors open and food and beverages looking back at me.  It wasn’t neat, and I wouldn’t even say it was orderly.  Were things in the right place?  Were the shelves where they should be?  My son had suggested that one of the lower shelves should be eliminated to accommodate the height of two-liter bottles or a pitcher of tea.  He was right, but I didn’t want to lose that nice wide shelf for long casserole dishes or things that needed more than the half-shelves.  What should I do?

Holy Spirit graciously interrupted my internal back and forth argument with the answer that was so obvious.  There is no right way.  Nor must the shelves be left in the same configuration all the time, because needs will change.  Who says I must set them and forget them?  The current order of the shelves will work for me most of the time, so there’s no need to rearrange them.  When they need to be adjusted to fit an odd item, I can change them.  Really, it’s that uncomplicated.

In that simple answer, Jesus ushered me another step further into the freedom for which He has set me (us) free, and I laughed aloud with joy!  Freedom from sin, with all its guilt and condemnation, affects all areas of my life – even the proper arrangement of refrigerator shelves!  There is no right or wrong way.  That’s why the manufacturers make shelves adjustable.  If shelf or item placement needs to be tweaked – now or down the road – it doesn’t indicate a lack of intelligence, common sense, housekeeping abilities, or any other such thing.

Daddy used this refrigerator incident to reveal how far-reaching the bondage (yoke of slavery) of a wrong mindset can go.  And how much farther His freedom in Jesus Christ goes – even to the freedom from needing to do “it” right, whatever “it” may be.  Oh, the glorious freedom of the children of God!  Oh what a wonderful Savior!

2 Corinthians 2:14 NKJV  Now thanks be to God who always leads us in triumph in Christ, and through us diffuses the fragrance of His knowledge in every place.

Please share your thoughts . . .

