I Can See Clearly Now

The exercise for the memoir-writing workshop was designed to help us realize how many stories we have to tell.  The Lord used it for a different purpose for me.

I tried to follow the directions.  Really I did.  I was supposed to write a sentence about a favorite memory from childhood and then from each succeeding decade of my life.  Afterwards, we were to expand on the memories as the instructor had indicated.  I never got that far.

I was stumped from the beginning.  Ask me what my favorite anything is, and I freeze, for some reason.  I just don’t have a favorite color, favorite food, favorite movie, memory, etc.  If I’m pushed to name something, it’s as if I go blank about the category altogether.

In my struggles to write about memories through the decades, I had a major light bulb moment.  While I had many good things throughout my life, I am absolutely more content than I have ever been in my life.  Not just today or this month.  It’s been a gradual “taking over” that began to take shape in the last couple of years.

The reality of the gospel of Jesus Christ has been progressively unfolding beyond what I have ever known – to the place that the Third Day song is mine: “Feels like I’m born again.  Feels like I’m livin’ for the very first time.”  Yet, I’ve been born again for the majority of my life.  What’s new?

Believing what the Bible says – despite what my feelings, emotions, and my actions may tell me.  Jesus Christ has taken every sin I committed thus far, and every sin I will ever commit until I’m home with Him in heaven.  Not only did He take them all, but He took the severe, excruciating judgment of God for me – for every sin.  And He gave me His undeserved righteousness – for all time.  I truly am a new creature because I am in Christ.  I am not guilty or condemned by my Father ever again, because I am in Christ.

I knew this in the past, to a point.  But it has become real to me, gradually changing my mind and my life, and helping me walk more and more in the glorious freedom of the children of God!  Hallelujah!  It’s in His righteousness I find that peace and joy.  Here – in Christ alone – is where I find true contentment.

I’m so glad I attended this workshop.  I came away with some helpful instruction for my current writing project – a temporal concern.  Better yet, I came away renewed by the Spirit with an ever-clearer eternal perspective!

Philippians 3:10-11 AMP  10 [For my determined purpose is] that I may know Him [that I may progressively become more deeply and intimately acquainted with Him, perceiving and recognizing and understanding the wonders of His Person more strongly and more clearly], and that I may in that same way come to know the power outflowing from His resurrection [which it exerts over believers], and that I may so share His sufferings as to be continually transformed [in spirit into His likeness even] to His death, [in the hope] 11 That if possible I may attain to the [spiritual and moral] resurrection [that lifts me] out from among the dead [even while in the body].

Please share your thoughts . . .

