Soaring, or Flapping with the Crows?

As I sorted through some old correspondence, I re-read a word picture that seemed to speak directly to me when I read it years ago.  It aptly described a situation with which I struggled at the time.  Just as God used it to encourage me then, my prayer is that you will be encouraged by it now.

I was on the final descent of my hike in the mountains when I heard the great clamor of crows.  I looked up to see one particular crow dive-bombing a completely unperturbed hawk gliding lazily through the air.  The crow was insanely angry, calling the hawk every name in the bird book.  When that crow approached the hawk, the hawk flipped his wing slightly out of the crow’s grasp and kept on gliding.  The hawk came to rest on the top of one of the giant pines, right at the tip top.  The crow increased her dive-bombing and cursing until other crows joined her.  The hawk finally took off and made a purposeful, yet lazy, progress over to another part of the mountain, despite multiple dive-bombing crows.

Sans the mountain backdrop, I’ve observed many similar bird interactions.  The Lord reminded me through this word picture that I am that hawk in the midst of insanely angry crows, because I’m in Christ.  He didn’t try to help me understand the underlying reasons for their anger.  It seemed as if He whispered simply, “Continue on the path in My peace.  I’ll deal with them.  Just don’t join in their ways.”

God knows what you face today.  May you receive His encouragement and strength so you will continue to soar as a hawk instead of flapping with the crows.

(This is a revision of a post on an inactive blog of mine.)
Please share your thoughts . . .

