Of Dogs and Babies (not to be confused with Of Mice and Men)

The revelation of God’s amazing, unmerited, unconditional love just keeps coming, and in such different ways.  The latest one involves my great dog, Sandy, and my precious grandson, Colton.  (I wondered how I would ever work him into a post.) The two of them do no harm to one another; neither do they particularly appreciate the fact that the other exists.

After Colton spent the night with us recently, and had been returned to his parents, I resumed my normal morning quiet time routine in my comfortable chair.  Sandy joined me on his bed that is strategically placed next to my chair.  As I reached out to “love on” him, I explained to him how much I wish he understood our love for him.  I knew that if he did, he wouldn’t feel so insecure and in need of reassurance when Colton gets my attention.  That’s when it hit me that  Abba Daddy had just given another great illustration of His love for us.

1 John 4:18  NIV  There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made perfect in love.

What does fear have to do with it?  Insecurity comes from fear in any number of forms.  In Sandy’s case, I can be around others (even dogs), but not giving them affection, and he is fine.  Throw attention and affection into the mix, and he doesn’t think we love him so much any more.  The fact is, I have more than enough love to spread around.  Even though I might not show it physically at that moment, my love for Sandy hasn’t decreased in the slightest.  The problem is, I’ve never been able to convince him of that fact.

Are we the same way with our heavenly Father?  Do we work and strive to do things that will impress Him, to “prove” to Him that we love Him, trying to gain assurance that He loves us?  Do we feel the need to remind Him that we’re still here?  If so, we really don’t understand how great and unending is His love for us.

Romans 8:37-39 NIV  37 No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. 38 For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, 39 neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

The fact of the matter is this: God’s love is perfect toward you, as that wonderful passage in 1 Corinthians 13 explains.*  You are as loved as you can ever be, even if you don’t feel it.  When you are in Christ Jesus, be assured that you will never, ever, ever, ever be separated from Him and His love for you.  You can bank on it and you can rest in it – forever!

* 1 Corinthians 13 needs to be read as God’s love to us, instead of how we are “supposed to” love others.  Once we grasp His love in this way for us, it will work through us to others.

3 thoughts on “Of Dogs and Babies (not to be confused with Of Mice and Men)

  1. Thank you! I’ve been asking God for further revelation of His love. this adds to His answers. You also answered a question I had about 1 Cor. 13 which I could hear a person inside of my head using against me. 🙂 Thanks!

    Like

Please share your thoughts . . .

