Leave Me Out

Have you ever noticed how easy it is to get yourself in the mix when praising and worshipping the Lord?  Whether in prayer or song, it is difficult not to bring yourself up.  “You are worthy of worship, Lord,” easily becomes, “I worship You.”  From “Bless the name of the Lord,” flows, “I bless Your name.”  Because He is a personal God, it is natural to make praise personal, but could that become a distraction?  Maybe you’ll find the answer as I take you on a brief tour of my worship life.

I begin by saying, “You are Jehovah Jireh, the Provider.  You are my Provider.”  From here, my thoughts and words are what I want or need for Him to provide.  In itself, this is not wrong, unless it remains my focus.  Even if I declare, “Be magnified.  I magnify You, Lord,” my thoughts morph into thinking I could never really magnify the Lord.  After all, my actions / words / thoughts are not like His, and I’ve let Him down so many times, etc.  I end up, totally self-focused, groveling in the muck and mire from which Jesus Christ already set me free – after setting out to worship Him!  Do you see my problem?

Sadly, I admit that this has become the path of my worship much of the time, whether I am alone or in a group.  Focusing fully on my wonderful Father, Savior, and Holy Spirit lasts for only moments at a time.  After those first moments, I enter the mix.  Even if it never progresses (or regresses) beyond, “I magnify You,” or “I worship You, Jehovah Jireh,” is it too much to ask myself to focus only on His person in all His glory, without considering myself at all?

John 3:30 He must become greater; I must become less. NIV

I’ve attempted to worship this way since Holy Spirit pointed it out, but it has definitely been a struggle.  By Him, and in His grace, I will worship Christ as He deserves.  My goal is not to become forever first-person pronoun-free in worship, but to follow where He leads.  For now, this is where He is leading.  What all He is doing in the midst of this, I do not know.  I do know, however, that the greater He becomes in me, the more He will be seen through me.  Isn’t that what my life is all about anyway?

To know Christ and to make Him known.

Please share your thoughts . . .

