Whose Plans?

As I completed things on my to-do list of preparations for the next visit to Tom’s mother, I realized how little stress was in evidence as I readied dog, home, writing, and myself.  How different from the last time!  Not only was the time leading up to that departure extra stressful, the visit itself was hard, though I couldn’t point to anything as a reason.  (For a more thorough explanation of that trip and lesson, read the December 2009 issue of Prayer Nuggets.)

Though the dog was to be boarded again, the anxious and sad feelings were not there – where they weighed heavily before.  The pre-trip cleaning wasn’t so overwhelming, and was completed in plenty of time to pack without pressure.  Even the inspiration for writing I had wanted to complete ahead of the trip came to me in a timely and stress-free fashion.

I know Holy Spirit pointed this peaceful state of mind out to me so I would notice the obvious difference the lesson from my “hard trip” had made in my life.  What was the lesson?  He hadn’t told me to go on that trip.  (Note to self . . . ask the Lord before making plans.)  Could it get any clearer?

Romans 12:2 AMP  Do not be conformed to this world (this age), [fashioned after and adapted to its external, superficial customs], but be transformed (changed) by the [entire] renewal of your mind [by its new ideals and its new attitude], so that you may prove [for yourselves] what is the good and acceptable and perfect will of God, even the thing which is good and acceptable and perfect [in His sight for you].

It is so much easier simply to ask what His will is for me all the time, than trying to follow my natural reasoning.  Now I’ve had the experience of not being in His will and of being in His will in the same situation at a different time.  The difference was a matter of peace or no peace, and the latter is not something I want to repeat – ever again!  So, I choose to pursue His will for me from here on out.  How about you?

Please share your thoughts . . .

