Those Moments

Ever had one of those moments when it’s clear the Lord has been working in you all along, changing you, without your being aware of it?  I experienced one of those moments during the last day of my first-ever writers’ conference.

The event began for me with an overload of insecurity and inadequacy as I compared myself to others speaking so confidently about their books and their publishing issues – and this was just in line at check-in!  It required a major talk between myself and Holy Spirit en route to my room.  I declared that I am not in competition with these people, though we may seek the same publishing opportunities at some point.  God has called and anointed me to write, even as He has called them, and He’s given each of us at least one story to tell.  Not only that, He called me to this very writers’ conference, so insecurity and inadequacy could have no further say in the matter!  My perspective began to line up with my Daddy’s.

As the contest winners were announced on the final evening, I was completely at ease.  After all, I had not even entered the writing contest.  One of my tablemates had, however, so I was eager to hear her name called, and disappointed when it wasn’t.  I noticed that I was genuinely excited for each of the winners, though I only knew some from brief conversations, and others not at all.  It was the fullness of Romans 12:15, “Rejoice with those who rejoice . . .”  I truly rejoiced with nothing held back (and hope it will remain that way when I have entered!)  But this was only a precursor to THE moment I mentioned earlier.

During our final morning together, I saw what God has been nurturing in me all along.  As conversations took place around me, as I observed the people, as I learned of publishing opportunities some had just received, I had such a desire for each one to be published and to share what God has given them for others.  I was experiencing God’s desires for them!

1 John 4:7 AMP  Beloved, let us love one another, for love is (springs) from God; and he who loves [his fellowmen] is begotten (born) of God and is coming [progressively] to know and understand God [to perceive and recognize and get a better and clearer knowledge of Him].

It’s nothing less than the power of His love at work in me.  It’s been working all along, and will continue working toward greater degrees of fruitfulness, but it’s as if I arrived at a precipice where I see what He’s done thus far.  Here, I see the people He has created more like He sees them, and I can’t help but love and want the best for them, for that’s His heart.

I haven’t arrived at the top of this mountain, by any means, but I have climbed to a higher place in the Spirit than I’ve been before.  Through the power of His love and His Word, I am being conformed to His thoughts, His attitudes, His perspective, and His amazing love.  Because of this, I am encouraged to continue onward and upward as Holy Spirit draws my gaze from this view to see the next climb awaiting me, with more of those moments at its precipice.

Please share your thoughts . . .

