I’ll Be That Someone!

I’m fired up!  It might look like it’s an emotional thing – it definitely has moved into my emotions – but it started in my spirit.  It began with the painful conviction of the Holy Spirit when He shined the brightness of Truth on the darkness in my life.  But the result of seeing it as He sees it is such joy when I repent and become that much more like Him!

It all started a couple of weeks ago, as I was in an uncomfortable dialogue with an unbeliever.  The Lord showed me that I had been compromising in my relationship with them – by my silence, my holding back from sharing the gospel verbally.  This was the way I was to walk in the beginning of this relationship, but it’s way past the beginning now.  I kept handling those communications as I had at first, with the thought that I’d keep the peace and let them see the gospel in me.  Because that season had passed, and the Lord wanted me to follow a different course, I had compromised His Truth through silence, leaving room for the kinds of questions and challenges now coming my way.  This compromise was on a personal level, but it wasn’t the only place in which I needed to be corrected and disciplined.

Not many days after that first conviction, when it was still very fresh, Holy Spirit showed me another area in which I’d been compromising similarly – the public arena.  As I read in the paper again about a bill being discussed in our state legislature – one with which I strongly disagree, but about which I’d done nothing – He convicted me.  You see, I’ve been waiting for someone to do something about this and many other important issues of our day.  I’ve talked strongly about some of the issues with others who feel the same as I.  None of us can make a difference just by talking with one another.  It’s even more than praying about it.  I’ve been waiting for someone to do something, but God has been waiting for me to be that someone! 

Compromise means, “To make a shameful or disreputable concession – e.g., Wouldn’t compromise with their principles.”  You see, by refusing to speak up, either in personal exchanges or in the public arena (through letters, phone calls, etc.), I have truly compromised with my principles.  I have shamefully conceded concerning things that are the very fiber of my being – the Truth of Jesus Christ!  I have allowed others to speak for me, even though I am adamantly opposed to what they believe, stand for, and declare – all because I didn’t speak up.  I know these are face-slapping statements, for they slapped my face hard!   But they also woke me up and helped me get set on the right course again.

Psalm 119:1-3 NLT  “ 1 Joyful are people of integrity, who follow the instructions of the Lord.  2 Joyful are those who obey his laws and search for him with all their hearts.  3 They do not compromise with evil, and they walk only in his paths.”

There is no guarantee that my one phone call, my one letter to a congressman, or my one letter to the editor will make a difference.  There is a guarantee, however, that I will have His joy when I walk His way, when I follow His lead, just like Jesus did.  And just maybe, by my doing those little acts, I’ll be the someone that God uses to begin a change in an individual or among the officials – if I just refuse to compromise any longer.

I will speak up and stand up, but I will be full of the love of God when I do it.  What I speak is to make the way for the Lord to bring conviction leading to repentance.  It just may be that the one I speak to isn’t the one who will be convicted and repent; rather, it will be someone nearby.  I must leave the results to the Lord, speak by His Spirit in His love, and refuse to compromise any longer!  Please join me in this way.

Please share your thoughts . . .

