In Position

Romans 13:8 NIV “Let no debt remain outstanding, except the continuing debt to love one another, for he who loves his fellowman has fulfilled the law.”

Okay, so I’m going back to the same verse one more time.  That’s only because I have more revelation of it than before, and I want to share it in a way that you will see it, too, and find the freedom of the Lord in greater measure!  In my telling of this part of my life, I am not bragging on my husband and myself, but on God.  To Him belongs all the glory!

Yesterday, I woke up as a “servant to the lender.”  By the end of the day, after making a transaction and following it’s path via the internet and phone, when I called the automated line of my mortgage company and heard the words, “Your loan is paid in full,” servant was no longer my identity.  When the Lord made it so clear to my husband and me that now was the time to pay off our remaining debts, despite the economic downturn, He also spoke to my heart that we were getting in position.   I didn’t really know what that meant, but I had such an expectation inside that we were about to walk in places in Him that we never had before, all because of financial debt.

This morning, as I entered this historic life-moment in my journal, the Holy Spirit helped me see the Romans verse from a whole new perspective, because I’m now on the other side of it.  Do you realize that the debt to love is bigger and more daunting than any mortgage, any car loan, any credit card debt, etc.?  It is a debt as big as what Jesus did for us, so it can never be repaid in full!  That knowledge, however, isn’t meant to make us throw up our hands and declare that there’s no use trying.  Even knowing I can never repay it fully, my desire now is for my whole life to be invested / spent on paying that debt of love to others.  That’s what Jesus’ whole life was about, and He lives in me, so it’s the whole purpose of my life, as well.  Before, there was a heavy weight (though it didn’t feel so heavy because it was “manageable”) that held me back.  I was pulled in two directions without realizing it.  Financial debt pulled me one way, and the debt to love pulled me the other way.

Now, I am in position to be able to walk fully in His path for me, and that’s what He wants for all of His children!  That’s why He told us to owe no man anything but the debt to love.  It wasn’t so we couldn’t have things on this earth.  It was to protect us from those things that would ensnare us, hindering us on His good path for us.  Our heavenly Father cares so much for us that He wants us to live in that freedom for which Jesus Christ paid in full.  He is not a God of laws, rules, and don’ts.  He wants us to walk on His path of life for us – unhindered, and He has clearly shown us the way in His Word!

I can only imagine how much greater this revelation will become as I begin to walk it out – now that I’m in position.  Really, it’s more of the lesson He has given about taking Him at His Word.  Wow!  It still amazes me how simple, yet how powerful this is – and so many of us have not walked in it before, or only in small measure.  Join me in this walk, my dear brothers and sisters in Christ, as we discover the freedom of taking Him at His Word, and find ourselves in position to walk as Christ walked – that our Father might be revealed.

Please share your thoughts . . .

